Skip to main content

Erich Fromm Lecture 2020

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Hardeck gives the Erich-Fromm Lecture 2020 on November 17

The Erich Fromm Study Center organizes an annual Erich Fromm Lecture at the IPU. This years speaker is Prof. Dr. Jürgen Hardeck.

"I have always remained a Freudian." On Erich Fromm's New View of Man and Society

In November 1899 Sigmund Freud's "The Interpretation of Dreams", the first fundamental work of psychoanalysis, appeared in Vienna. In March 1900 Erich Fromm was born in Frankfurt am Main. He studied sociology in Heidelberg and then trained as a psychoanalyst at the Berlin Institute.

From 1929 he practiced in Berlin, and from 1930 (until 1939) he was head of the Social Psychology Department of the Frankfurt Institute for Social Research.

After his emigration to the USA in 1934, he very soon belonged, together with Karen Horney, Harry Stack Sullivan and Clara Thompson, to the so-called "neo-psychoanalysts", whose theories were rejected by the official representatives of psychoanalysis at that time. A tangled history of reception took its course, the misinterpretations of which continue to have an effect until today. What is there to the criticism of Erich Fromm?


Jürgen Hardeck wrote a dissertation on Erich Fromm's understanding of religion (Ullstein 1992) and published a biography of Erich Fromm with the Wissenschaftliche Buchgesellschaft in 2005. The Fromm expert, who works as a department head in the Ministry of Culture of the state of Rhineland-Palatinate, is a member of the board of the International Erich Fromm Society and chairman of the jury of the Erich Fromm Prize.

Award of the IPU Medal of Honor

Before this year's Erich Fromm Lecture, Dr. Rainer Funk will receive the Medal of Honor of the International Psychoanalytic University for his special services to psychoanalysis and for his commitment to the establishment and management of the Erich Fromm Study Center (EFSC) at the IPU.

Dr. Rainer Funk, born in 1943, worked as a psychoanalyst in independent practice in Tübingen since 1979. He received his doctorate in 1977 on Erich Fromm's social psychology and ethics and was Fromm's last research assistant in Locarno in the 1970s.

Fromm appointed him as his rights and estate administrator. Funk brought Fromm's estate and library to the Erich Fromm Institute in Tübingen, which is open to the public and academically interested people from Thursday to Saturday. In 1980/1981 he published the Erich Fromm-Gesamtausgabe in ten volumes with the Deutsche Verlags-Anstalt, which was later expanded by two volumes of bequeathed writings. Funk also took on numerous teaching assignments and has been a lecturer at the IPU since 2013.

In addition to his teaching activities, Funk has published numerous works on Erich Fromm as well as on analytical psychology of religion and social psychology.

Information on the Event

Tuesday, November 17, 2020, 7 p.m. via video broadcast (Zoom).
The event will be held online via video broadcast only due to Corona pandemic containment measures. The IPU Berlin follows the recommendations and regulations of the responsible health department and the Berlin Senate Chancellery (current information on Corona prevention at the IPU Berlin).

Registration: Registration is done via the participation form on the IPU website. The link for participation will then be sent to you by e-mail.

Erich Fromm-Vorlesung 2020

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Hardeck hält am 17. November die Erich-Fromm-Vorlesung 2020

Das Erich Fromm Study Center veranstaltet jährlich an der IPU eine Erich-Fromm-Vorlesung. In diesem Jahr konnte Prof. Dr. Jürgen Hardeck als Referent gewonnen werden.

„Ich bin immer Freudianer geblieben.“

Zu Erich Fromms neuer Sicht von Mensch und Gesellschaft

Zum Thema: Vordatiert auf das Erscheinungsjahr 1900 erschien in Wien im November 1899 Die Traumdeutung von Sigmund Freud, das erste grundlegende Werk der Psychoanalyse. Im März 1900 wurde in Frankfurt am Main Erich Fromm geboren, der Soziologie in Heidelberg studierte und sich anschließend am Berliner Institut zum Psychoanalytiker ausbilden ließ.

Ab 1929 praktizierte er in Berlin, ab 1930 (bis 1939) war er Leiter der Sozialpsychologischen Abteilung des Frankfurter Instituts für Sozialforschung.

Nach seiner Emigration in die USA 1934 gehörte er sehr bald, zusammen mit Karen Horney, Harry Stack Sullivan und Clara Thompson zu den sogenannten „Neopsychoanalytikern“, deren Theorien von den damaligen offiziellen Vertretern der Psychoanalyse abgelehnt wurden. Eine verwickelte Rezeptionsgeschichte nahm ihren Lauf, deren Missdeutungen bis heute fortwirken. Was ist dran an der Kritik an Erich Fromm?

Jürgen Hardeck schrieb eine religionswissenschaftliche Dissertation über Erich Fromms Religionsverständnis (Ullstein 1992) und veröffentlichte 2005 bei der Wissenschaftlichen Buchgesellschaft eine Werkbiografie über Erich Fromm. Der als Referatsgruppenleiter im Kulturministerium des Landes Rheinland-Pfalz tätige Fromm-Kenner ist Mitglied des Vorstands der Internationalen Erich-Fromm-Gesellschaft und Vorsitzender der Jury des Erich Fromm-Preises.

Verleihung der IPU-Ehrenmedaille

Bei der diesjährigen Erich-Fromm-Vorlesung wird Herr Dr. Rainer Funk die Ehrenmedaille der Internationalen Psychoanalytischen Universität für seine besonderen Verdienste um die Psychoanalyse sowie für sein Engagement beim Aufbau und in der Leitung des Erich Fromm Study Centers (EFSC) an der IPU erhalten.

Dr. Rainer Funk, geboren 1943, arbeitete seit 1979 als Psychoanalytiker in freier Praxis in Tübingen. Er promovierte 1977 über Erich Fromms Sozialpsychologie und Ethik und war in den siebziger Jahren Fromms letzter wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter in Locarno.

Fromm bestimmte ihn zu seinem Rechte- und Nachlassverwalter. Den Nachlass und die Bibliothek Fromms brachte Funk in Tübingen in das Erich Fromm Institut ein, das der Öffentlichkeit und wissenschaftlich Interessierten jeweils von Donnerstag bis Samstag zugänglich ist. 1980/1981 brachte er bei der Deutschen Verlags-Anstalt die Erich Fromm-Gesamtausgabe in zehn Bänden raus, die später um zwei Bände mit nachgelassenen Schriften erweitert wurde. Zudem nahm Funk zahlreiche Lehraufträge an und ist seit 2013 Dozent an der IPU.

Neben seiner Tätigkeit in der Lehre publizierte Funk zahlreiche Werke zu Erich Fromm wie auch zur analytischen Religions- und Sozialpsychologie.

Veranstaltungsinformationen

Dienstag, 17. November 2020, 19 Uhr per Videoübertragung (Zoom)
Die Veranstaltung wird aufgrund der Maßnahmen zur Eindämmung der Corona-Pandemie nur online per Videoübertragung durchgeführt. Die IPU Berlin richtet sich nach den Empfehlungen und Verordnungen des zuständigen Gesundheitsamts und der Berliner Senatskanzlei (aktuelle Informationen zur Corona-Prävention an der IPU Berlin).

Anmeldung: Die Anmeldung erfolgt über das Teilnahmeformular auf der IPU-Website. Der Link zur Teilnahme wird Ihnen dann per E-Mail zugestellt.